Fifth Annual Symposium

Fifth Annual Symposium

The UNC Charlotte Center for Optoelectronics and Optical Communications

Friday, October 27, 2006   8:00am - 5:00pm

Held in The New Applied Physics and Optics Building at 132 Grigg Hall

Director of the Center for Optoelectronics and Optical Communications
and Event Host

Dr. Mike Fiddy

Agenda Highlights

8:00     Coffee and Networking

8:30     Mike Fiddy: Introductions and UNC Charlotte Photonics “Info-mercials”  

8:50     Jordan Poler CNT-FET based sensors  

9:00     Yasin Raja/ M. Khizar AlGaN-based DUV LEDs  

9:10     Tsing-Hua Her Conformal nanostructures  

9:20     Mona Mayeh/Faramarz Farahi MMI devices  

9:30     Paulo Batoni/Ed Stokes UV LED program update  

9:40     Mohammad Ali Hasan Monolithic integrated detector  


10:10    Vasily Astratov Coupled spherical microcavities  

10:20    Tom Suleski Interferometric lithography  

10:30    Pat Moyer Spectroscopy with nanoholes  

10:40    Tom Schmedake Colloidal SiO2 sensors  

10:50    Ray Tsu (25 mins) Interaction of CdSe/ZnS quantum dots with the matrix structure and each other  


11:30    Jeff Conley: Carolinas Photonics Initiative

Presentations by Partner Optics Centers:

11:45    Clemson (George Chumanov)

12:00    Duke (Tuan Vo-Dinh) - Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics Overview

12:15    NCSU (Mark Johnson) - Optical Materials/Photonic Devices Research

12:30    WCU (Ken Burbank) - Center for Integrated Technologies

12:45    Lunch

2:00      Prof. Nirmal Bose, Penn State Distinguished Professor - Superresolution with a large field of view for microminiaturized imaging systems  


3:15     Dr. Michael Lebby, President and CEO, Optoelectronics Industry Association

4:30     Reception, networking and opportunity to meet Carolinas Photonics Cluster industry visitors