Fourth Annual Symposium

Fourth Annual Symposium

The University of North Carolina - Charlotte's Cone University Center

Friday, November 18, 2005    7:30am - 5:00pm

The UNC Charlotte Center for Optoelectronics and Optical Communications and the Carolinas MicroOptics Triangle (CMOT) Announce the Fourth Annual Optoelectronics Symposium at UNC-C and the First Annual CMOT Symposium


Director of the Center for Optoelectronics and Optical Communications
and Event Host

Dr. Mike Fiddy

Agenda Highlights

Invited Speakers:
  Dr. Bob McMahan - Sr. Science & Tech Advisor to NC Gov.Easley
  Innovation and Technology Transfer
  Dr. Michael Lebby - Executive Director, OIDA
  Worldwide Optoelectronic Trends and Economic Opportunities.
  Dr. Bob Hocken - Director, Center for Precision Metrology at UNC Charlotte

The NSF Center for Precision Metrology and Industrial Affiliates Program

  Dr. Dennis Prather - University of Delaware

Next generation photonic components and technology transfer

  Dr. Mike Wraback - Army Research Laboratory
  Advancing uv diode technology
  Dr. John Ballato - Clemson COMSET

Photonic bandgap fibers and collaborations with Tetramer Technologies and Advanced Photonic Crystals, Inc

  Dr. Ken Burbank - Western Carolina University Rapid Prototyping Center

Optical Test & Measurement and USC

  Dr. Mike Fiddy - Director, Center for Optoelectronics and Optical Communications at UNC Charlotte

Carolinas MicroOptics Triangle joint project on artificial optical materials


Panel Discussions and Q & A

  Speakers from University • Government Labs • Industry



  Educators: Universities, Technical and Community Colleges
  Companies: Executives, Technical Staff  
  Economic Development Organizations  
  Government Labs / Agencies